Posts

Showing posts from June, 2019

Terminal by Michaelbrent Collings Review

Image
"If you leave, you die!"



Terminal by Michaelbrent CollingsReleased April 24, 2019

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads | Amazon

Source: Received for Review Consideration All passengers, please prepare for departure…

An employee, a cop, and five prisoners; a prisoner, a stowaway, and a madman.

These are the people waiting at the Lawton bus terminal. Mostly late-night travelers who want nothing more than to get to their destinations, and employees who want nothing more than to get through the graveyard shift.

But when a strange, otherworldly fog rolls in, the night changes to nightmare. Because something hides in the fog. Something powerful. Something strange. Something... inhuman.

Soon, those in the terminal have been cut off from the rest of the world. No phones, no computers. Just ten strangers in the terminal... and The Other.

The Other is the force in the mist. The Other is the thing that has captured them. And The Other wants to play a game. 

The rules are simple:

1) The people in the termin…

8 More Amazing Book Recommendations from the Reading Experts (2)

Image
This is post #2 in my Twitter fueled Amazing Book Recommendations series. If you missed the first one you can read it here.

These posts celebrate the amazing people that make up the book loving community on Twitter. These readers generously shared their most recent five star reads so the rest of us can go buy more books! I think it's safe to say that there is likely something for everybody here. Please visit their links and befriend them and also hold on tight to your wallets because we are here to tempt away all of your money! Click on any cover to go to the Goodreads page.

Fantasy/HumorGOOD OMENS by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaimen According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner.

So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring.…

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding Review

Image
This book was such a sinister little surprise!



Little Darlings by Melanie GoldingReleased April 2019

Thriller / Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads | Amazon

Source: Library Borrow “Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates…

The Nowhere Child by Christian White

Image
A woman's life is turned upside down when a stranger tells her she is not who she thinks she is. What?! You know I love this stuff and this is a great secrets book!



The Nowhere Child by Christian WhiteReleased February 2018

Thriller |  Goodreads  |  Amazon

Source: Library Borrow Kimberly Leamy is a photography teacher in Melbourne, Australia. Twenty-six years earlier, Sammy Went, a two-year old girl vanished from her home in Manson, Kentucky. An American accountant who contacts Kim is convinced she was that child, kidnapped just after her birthday. She cannot believe the woman who raised her, a loving social worker who died of cancer four years ago, crossed international lines to steal a toddler.

On April 3rd, 1990, Jack and Molly Went’s daughter Sammy disappeared from the inside their Kentucky home. Already estranged since the girl’s birth, the couple drifted further apart as time passed. Jack did his best to raise and protect his other daughter and son while Molly found solace in her…

Need An Amazing Book? Here's 8 of Them Curated by the Experts! (1)

Image
Most days I feel as if Twitter is an energy suck, a happiness vampire, and a seething a pit of negativity. If you've spent any amount of time there you will know what I mean. It is easy to fall into a pit of despair if you spend too much time scrolling but as much as Twitter wounds my heart it is also a wonderful place where creatives, readers and introverts of all kinds can connect. Our not-so-little book community comprised of readers & writers LOVES books and these people know their stuff so you can feel safe with their recommendations. I am going to start a new series to celebrate the amazing people that make up the community and I will share their most recent five star reads on these posts. I think it's safe to say that there is likely something for everybody here. Please visit their links and befriend them and also hold on tight to your wallets because we are here to tempt away all of your money! Click on any cover to go to the Goodreads page.

Historial FictionTHE IL…

Hanging Around the Blogs: News & Reviews You May Have Missed (12)

Image
Inspired by "Around the Blogs with Chuckles". There are never enough hours in the day to be a creeper on all the blogs and social media outlets so here's a recap of some great posts, articles and news tidbits you may have missed while you were out living your life.

Sorry if you've seen this twice and left comments on the other post. I accidentally posted my draft in progress for next week, ugh! I am such a disaster of a blogger.


Ladies of Horror Fiction NewsWe are accepting submissions of LOHF short works of fiction for the podcast. Get all the details at the link below and please share the news with all of your writer friends!
https://www.ladiesofhorrorfiction.com/2019/06/01/ladies-of-horror-fiction-present-stories-of-horror-now-taking-submissions/

New Publisher Silver Shamrock Has New Horror Releasing Soon! In The Scrape by James Newman & Mark Steensland Most kids dream about a new bike, a pair of top-dollar sneakers endorsed by their favorite athlete, or that tot…