Posts

Showing posts from April, 2019

An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen Audio Review

Image
I must stop neglecting my own blog! Here's another backlog review - eeeeh - someday I will catch up here.



An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
AudiobookDeceptive Fiction, 11+ Hours Released January 2019
Goodreads | Buy A Copy Here

Source: Received for Review Consideration

The next novel of psychological suspense and obsession from the authors of the blockbuster bestseller The Wife Between Us

Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. 

When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding. As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that s…

March's Mini Horror Reviews

Image
I've been reading a lot of horror related things but posting them to Horror After Dark and The Ladies of Horror Fiction. I recently learned that a blog's SEO can take a terrible hit if the same review is cross-posted to more than one blog so I can't do that anymore. I don't care so much about my little personal blog here but I don't want to screw up things for the other two that I work on with other people. I'm going to combine the horror books in one post from here on out.

Here's what I've been reading (with one movie thrown in), in no particular order. Please let me know if like or dislike this new format and thanks for sticking with me while I figure all of this out!



While You Sleep by Stephanie Merritt This is a gorgeously atmospheric story about a woman who takes a little vacation to escape her life and ends up in a rented home on the cliffs. It may or may not be haunted but there are certainly weird things happening! I didn't care for the pro…

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald Review

Image
After my mini hiatus, I am back and sooo backed up on reviews!Argh but here's a good one:


The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald
AudiobookDeceptive Fiction, 10+ Hours Released February 2019
Goodreads | Buy A Copy Here

In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s…