Posts

Showing posts from May, 2018

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

Image
I think I may need a little break from these unreliable narrator books.


The Woman In The Window by A.J. Finn
ThrillerAudiobook Unabridged 13+ Hours
Released January 2018
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-five languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hithcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone?a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble?an…

Books from the Backlog: Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates

Image
Carole @ Carole's Random Life In Books has created a fun new feature called Books from the Backlog to spotlight neglected and unloved books that have been sitting on your bookshelf for too long.

If you would like to join in, click the pic above to find out more.

My Neglected Book of the Week is Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates.



Here it sits in a pile with many other long neglected books I had to have.


The Goodreads Blurbage:
"Meet Quentin P., the most believably terrifying sexual psychopath and killer ever brought to life in fiction. The author deftly puts you inside the mind of a serial killer--succeeding not in writing about madness, but in writing with the logic of madness.
Why did I add this book to my tbr pile? I bought this book, I don't even know when, at a library book sale. It was likely over 5+ years ago because I remember ducking out of picture day at my daughter's dance studio to run across the street to spend time with books instead of dance mom's. I've …

Book Review: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

Image
This book and I had some struggles.


The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry, Narrated by Erin Mallon & Brian Pallino
Contemporary RomanceAudiobook Unabridged 8+ Hours
Released April 2016
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
I was warned about Tristan Cole.

“Stay away from him,” people said.
“He’s cruel.”
“He’s cold.”
“He’s damaged.”

It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster.

But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me.

We were both empty.
We were both looking for something else. Something more.
We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays.

Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe. 
My Thoughts:

I’ve had this sucker downloaded to my phone for over a year so figured it was about time to get it done. Note to all: I knew nothing of the plot before going into it because I bought it a year ago and my memory is crap. The guy on the cover looked promising though. So what fo…

Audio Review: Kill Creek by Scott Thomas

Image
There is a book worth all the hype!


Kill Creek by Scott Thomas, Narrated by Bernard Setaro Clark
Horror FictionAudiobook Unabridged 15+ Hours
Released October 2017
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
At the end of a dark prairie road, nearly forgotten in the Kansas countryside, lies the Finch House. For years it has perched empty, abandoned, and overgrown--but soon the door will be opened for the first time in many decades. But something waits, lurking in the shadows, anxious to meet its new guests. 

When best-selling horror author Sam McGarver is invited to spend Halloween night in one of the country's most infamous haunted houses, he reluctantly agrees. At least he won't be alone; joining him are three other masters of the macabre, writers who have helped shape modern horror. But what begins as a simple publicity stunt soon becomes a fight for survival--the entity they have awakened will follow them, torment them, threatening to make them part of the bloody legacy of Kill Creek.
My Thoughts:

A youn…

Book Review: They Feed by Jason Parent

Image
Awful people get eaten!! What more could you want right now?


They Feed by Jason Parent
Creature Feature Horror Fiction
Released by Sinister Grin Press, April 2018
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
The night uncovers all we wish not to see. 

A troubled man enters a dusky park before sunset. A young woman follows, hidden in shadow. Both have returned to the park to take back something the past has stolen from them, to make right six long years of suffering, and to find justice or perhaps redemption—or maybe they'll settle for some old-fashioned revenge. 

But something evil is alive and awake in those woods, creatures that care nothing for human motivations. They’re driven by their own insatiable need: a ravenous, bottomless hunger. 

The campgrounds are full tonight, and the creatures are starving. Before the night is over, they will feed. 

An unrelenting tale of terror from Jason Parent, acclaimed author of People of the Sun and What Hides Within.
My Thoughts:

This monster romp was populated with mostly des…

Books from the Backlog: Kraken by M. Caspian

Image
Carole @ Carole's Random Life In Books has created a fun new feature called Books from the Backlog to spotlight neglected and unloved books that have been sitting on your bookshelf for too long.

If you would like to join in, click the pic above to find out more.

My Neglected Book of the Week is Kraken by M. CaspianI bought this book in 2014 which isn't too long ago considering how I usually roll. Can you guess what this one might be about?!



The Goodreads Blurbage:
"Kraken: A gothic erotic horror with tentacle non-con.

When boyfriend Parker gives him an ultimatum Will never dreams his heart is about to be ripped out: move to a remote off-shore island with him, or call it quits. But Will picks wrong, and now he’s heading into the unknown to fix his mistake. But why do the locals think they recognise him? And why can’t he seem to leave?

Reader advisory: This work of fiction contains explicit sexual activities between men that may offend some people. It also contains scenes o…

Audio Review: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

Image
The worst monsters are always human.


In Cold Blood by Truman Capote, Narrated by Scott Brick
Audiobook
Released by January 2006, 15+ Hours
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
On November 15, 1959, in the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, four members of the Clutter family were savagely murdered by blasts from a shotgun held a few inches from their faces. There was no apparent motive for the crime, and there were almost no clues.

As Truman Capote reconstructs the murder and the investigation that led to the capture, trial, and execution of the killers, he generates both mesmerizing suspense and astonishing empathy. In Cold Blood is a work that transcends its moment, yielding poignant insights into the nature of American violence.
My Thoughts:

This does not read like a true crime novel. It almost reads like a historical fiction novel but unfortunately all of the horrible events that take place happened. I recommend having something light and fluffy nearby to read when you're finished because this book will dr…

Book Review: Five Dares by Eli Easton

Image
And now for a complete change of pace :)


Five Dares by Eli Easton
MM Romance
Released by Pinkerton Road April 2018
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
Andy Tyler has been the class daredevil since middle school. Over the years, he’s convinced his best friend, Jake Masterson, to perform some dangerous-looking stunts with him. But the dare they attempt on the night of their college graduation goes sideways. The firecrackers explode too soon and both of them end up with badly burned palms.

But hey, nothing gets the “terrible two-o” down for long, and they recuperate in style at Andy’s family cottage in Cape Cod. As the weeks go by, both Andy and Jake grow frustrated over the inability to use their hands for all sorts of daily activities—including getting off. So Andy begins a new series of dares that don’t just cross the friendship line, they obliterate it.

But what might be mere sexual relief to Andy is serious business to Jake, who only recently got over years of secret pining for his straight best friend. In…

Nocturnal Readers Box April 2018 Reveal

Image
Here's the stuff included in April's Nocturnal Reader's Box. I didn't own and haven't read either book but I've seen very mixed messages about Unbury Carol. I'll read it since I now own it and let you all know how I make out. Sorry for the crap pictures. We were having a long stretch of overcast weather and my kid wasn't home to help me set up her fancy lights and I'm too lazy to drag everything out again.

Here's all the stuff!

Just the books & some nifty artwork.

Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman
Carol Evers is a woman with a dark secret. She has died many times . . . but her many deaths are not final: They are comas, a waking slumber indistinguishable from death, each lasting days.
Only two people know of Carol’s eerie condition. One is her husband, Dwight, who married Carol for her fortune, and—when she lapses into another coma—plots to seize it by proclaiming her dead and quickly burying her . . . alive. The other is her lost love, the infamou…

Books from the Backlog: Brand New Cherry Flavor by Todd Grimson

Image
Carole @ Carole's Random Life In Books has created a fun new feature called Books from the Backlog to spotlight neglected and unloved books that have been sitting on your bookshelf for too long.

If you would like to join in, click the pic above to find out more.

My Neglected Book of the Week is Brand New Cherry Flavor by Todd GrimsonI bought this book when it was released back in 1997. Yep. I should be ashamed. It feel to the bottom of a storage bin where it has remained until recently when I decided to hunt for Afterage by Yvonne Navarro.


The Goodreads Blurbage:
"Hollywood never tasted so good. Todd Crimson serves up a hip and chilling adventure through Tinsel Town's hot spots, delirious dreams, and vengeance-soaked mystical rituals in this "bridge between classic American hard-boiled and the lushest tangles of magical realism." (Katherine Dunn, bestselling author of "Geek Love" )Lisa Nova has it all -- talent, brains, beauty, and a mean streak that…

Book Review: Find You In The Dark by Nathan Ripley

Image
This book is about a man with a very weird hobby.


Find You In The Dark by Nathan Ripley
Thriller
To Be Released in the US: June 19, 2018
Amazon ♦ Goodreads
In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series, a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who wants anything but his secrets uncovered.

For years, unbeknownst to his wife and teenage daughter, Martin Reese has been illegally buying police files on serial killers and obsessively studying them, using them as guides to find the missing bodies of victims. He doesn’t take any souvenirs, just photos that he stores in an old laptop, and then he turns in the results anonymously. Martin sees his work as a public service, a righting of wrongs.

Detective Sandra Whittal sees the situation differently. On a meteoric rise in police ranks due to her case‑closing efficiency, Whittal is suspicious of the mysterious source s…