Posts

Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare Book Review

Image
Call Me Evie hurt my brain a little.



Call Me Evie by J.P. PomareReleased March 2019

Thriller  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon
In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever.

For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town--brought there by a mysterious man named Bill. Part captor, part benefactor, Bill calls her Evie and tells her he's hiding her to protect her. That she did something terrible one night back home in Melbourne--something so unspeakable that he had no choice but to take her away. The trouble is, Kate can't remember the night in question.

The fragments of Kate's shattered memories of her old life seem happy: good friends, a big house in the suburbs, a devoted boyfriend. Bill says he'll help her fill in the blanks--b…

Stolen Roads by Randy Chandler Book Review

Image
Follow me into another roadtrip straight to hell :)



Stolen Roads by Randy ChandlerReleased February 2019

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon "It was like I was riding on a stolen road, like somebody'd just shanghaied the road and plopped it down in some foreign land." Thus, "stolen roads" entered the esoteric lexicon of popular culture.

William Kidd’s travels on stolen roads begin when he’s a boy on leave from a psychiatric hospital and survives a car accident that kills both his parents.

Although hallucinations are nothing new to him, Kidd knows the otherworldly thing crouched on his dying father’s chest at the scene of the accident is no hallucination. Nothing in his mental inventory of the planet’s natural creatures jibes with this pebble-skinned thing nearly as big as a man, a terrifying beast with spiky shoulders and lizard-like snout, its long knobby limbs folded insect-fashion as if it might suddenly leap or fly away without warning.

The beast claws the boy’…

The Venus Complex by Barbie Wilde Review

Image
This is a story about a deviant fellow.



The Venus Complex by Barbie WildeReleased November 2018

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon A man rises out of an abyss of frustration and rage and creates works of art out of destruction, goddesses out of mere dental hygienists and beauty out of death. It's also about the sickness and obsession that is LOVE. Enter into Michael's world through the pages of his personal journal, where every diseased thought, disturbing dream, politically incorrect rant and sexually explicit murder highlights his journey from zero to psycho.
My 2 Cents For Free!The Venus Complex takes an intimate look inside the head of a man with deviant tendencies who decides to act on them and it is horrific and somehow strangely compelling. I felt rather ewww after spending time in his head and had to take breaks but that didn’t stop me from coming back to it. It’s probably not a story for everyone though.
A depressed fellow is told to keep a journal by his doctor in or…

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White Review

Image
Here's another five star read to make up for yesterday's post!



The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten WhiteReleased September 2018

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon Elizabeth Lavenza hasn't had a proper meal in weeks. Her thin arms are covered with bruises from her "caregiver," and she is on the verge of being thrown into the streets . . . until she is brought to the home of Victor Frankenstein, an unsmiling, solitary boy who has everything--except a friend.

Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable--and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable.

But her new life comes at a price. As the years pass, Elizabeth's survival depends on managing Victor's dangerous temper and entertaining his every whim, no matter how depraved. Behind her blue eyes and sweet smile lies …

The Oh-So-Sad DNF Collection: Take 3

Image
I have had a good run of books lately but there have been a few that didn't quite work out for me. I don't like to DNF but I also don't like the idea of struggling through a book that doesn't get along with me. Here is a little collection of books I had to give up on/skim-finish because I am a quitter and I have entirely too many books in my tbr pile.



Family Business by Brett Williams
I had to DNF this audiobook at 20% because of the animal abuse.

I suppose I need to be better about researching books before I agree to review them. I prefer going in blind and reading reviews after I've read the book so as not to get my opinion tainted, or accidentally snatching a phrase. It usually works out for me but sometimes avoiding blurbs and reviews bites me in the butt. This is one of those times. I can stomach almost anything but too much animal abuse is something that haunts me and this book is filled to the brim with it and it is explicit.

TW: Rape, Animal Cruelty & I …

Remains by Andrew Cull Book Review

Image
I am so behind on reviews and everything. Sorry everyone. Here is a five star review of a dark and dread-filled book. And if you're wondering if I've been body snatched, what with all of these good reviews lately, don't worry I have a DNF post coming soon, haha.



Remains by Andrew CullReleased August 2019

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon Grief is a black house.

How far would you go? What horrors would you endure if it meant you might see the son you thought you'd lost forever?

Driven to a breakdown by the brutal murder of her young son, Lucy Campbell had locked herself away, fallen deep inside herself, become a ghost haunting room 23b of the William Tuke Psychiatric Hospital.

There she'd remained, until the whispering pulled her back, until she found herself once more sitting in her car, calling to the son she had lost, staring into the black panes of the now abandoned house where Alex had died.

Tonight, someone is watching her back. 
My 2 Cents For Free!“She stepped …

Hanging Around the Blogs: News & Reviews You May Have Missed (15)

Image
Inspired by "Around the Blogs with Chuckles". There are never enough hours in the day to be a creeper on all the blogs and social media outlets so here's a recap of some great posts, articles and news tidbits you may have missed while you were out living your life.

This will be the mini-review of creepy films edition with a smidge of Ladies Of Horror Fiction news on the side. Sorry everyone, the past few weeks have been a wee bit challenging.


Ladies of Horror Fiction News We had a tie this month so we will be hosting two Ladies of Horror Fiction group read discussions. I hope you'll join in! You can find the group here:

https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/963939-ladies-of-horror-fiction

These are the two books we are currently discussing:

The Blair Witch Project meets Imaginary Girls in this story of codependent sisterhood, the struggle to claim one’s own space, and the power of secrets
Sixteen-year-old Skye is done playing the knight in shining armor for her insufferab…

Night Shoot by David Sodergren Book Review

Image
If you like a fun slasher film you are going to love Night Shoot!



Night Shoot by David SodergrenReleased May 2019

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon A group of desperate student filmmakers break into Crawford Manor for an unauthorized night shoot. They have no choice. Their lead actress has quit. They’re out of time. They’re out of money.

They’re out of luck.

For Crawford Manor has a past that won’t stay dead, and the crew are about to come face-to-face with the hideous secret that stalks the halls.

Will anyone survive…the NIGHT SHOOT?

A delirious homage to the slasher movies of the 1980s, Night Shoot delivers page after page of white-knuckle terror.
My 2 Cents For Free! Night Shoot is a wild slasher flick in novel form and it is a ton of fun with plenty of dreadful characters who couldn’t die fast enough!


Elspeth is our main character. In order to receive her degree in film & photography she has to complete a project with a group of mostly idiot jerk-offs. The lead jerk in charge dec…

Hanging Around the Blogs: News & Reviews You May Have Missed (14)

Image
Inspired by "Around the Blogs with Chuckles". There are never enough hours in the day to be a creeper on all the blogs and social media outlets so here's a recap of some great posts, articles and news tidbits you may have missed while you were out living your life.


Reviews & Interviews Tammy over at Books, Bones & Buffy has an excellent interview with dark fiction writer Damien Angelica Walters.
http://booksbonesbuffy.com/2019/09/17/interview-with-damien-angelica-walters/

Barb at Booker T's Farm reviews Elizabeth Massie's Desper Hollow:
http://bookertsfarm.blogspot.com/2019/09/apex-back-catalog-tour-desper-hollow.html

Barb also has a terrific interview with author Massie here:
http://bookertsfarm.blogspot.com/2019/09/apex-back-catalog-tour-author-interview.html

Joyous reads reviews a Jimmy Fallon book club selection (did you know he had a book club? Me neither). It sounds both grueling and wonderful and you can read it here: 
http://joyousreads.net/2019/09/17/…

Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich AudioBook Review

Image
I listened to this book for the Goodreads #LadiesOfHorrorFiction monthly chat. Come and join us anytime!



Teeth In the Mist by Dawn KurtagichReleased June 11, 2019

Dark Fiction  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon A genre-bending epic horror-fantasy, inspired by the legend of Faust, that spans generations as an ancient evil is uncovered--perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Ransom Riggs.

Before the birth of time, a monk uncovers the Devil's Tongue and dares to speak it. The repercussions will be felt for generations...

Sixteen-year-old photography enthusiast Zoey has been fascinated by the haunted, burnt-out ruins of Medwyn Mill House for as long as she can remember--so she and her best friend, Poulton, run away from home to explore them. But are they really alone in the house? And who will know if something goes wrong?

In 1851, seventeen-year-old Roan arrives at the Mill House as a ward--one of three, all with something to hide from their new guardian. When Roan learns that she is connected to an …