Witches Get Stuff Done by Molly Harper | Book Review

This was a little on the meh side for me.


Witches Get Stuff Done by Molly Harper

Released September 2023

Source: Kindle Unlimited

Goodreads | Amazon

Juggling newfound witchy powers, a house full of ghosts, and verbal battles with the handsome local librarian is almost too much for a new witch to manage. A new witch with a coven, however, can get so much more done...

From the moment Riley Everett set foot in Starfall Point, magic bubbled inside of her. But with only her late aunt's journals and a cantankerous live-in ghost butler to instruct her on all things witchy—including her newly inherited Victorian haunted house—Riley seeks out a coven for sisterhood and support. The last person she expects to be drawn to is the town's frustrating, yet ridiculously attractive head librarian.

Edison Held knows almost everything there is to know about Starfall Point, but Shaddow House was always off-limits, thanks to its elusive owner. If he can convince the new owner, Riley, to let him take a peek inside, there's so much he could learn. But as he gets closer to Riley, he's fascinated by her dazzling wit and fiery spirit. Edison will do whatever he can to help Riley keep her family legacy alive, especially if it means spending more time with the captivating new witch in town.

Bestselling author Molly Harper wields a magical pen in this hilarious, delightful witchy romcom perfect for readers of The Ex Hex and Payback's a Witch.


My 2 Cents for Free!

The touristy setting is well done but everything else (and there's really just too much) feels underdone and rushed.

Riley is summoned by an aunt to the touristy town only to discover she's now stuck being a caretaker to a haunted house. Why doesn't this ever happen to me? I promise you I would spend every day in bliss and I wouldn't complain.

Anyhow, her love interest is the local hunky, anxiety-stricken librarian named Edison. They met on the ferry when she puked on his shoes. And then she screams at him for hogging the bathroom. It was a weirdly uncute, unfunny kind of gross "meet cute". Soon after they fall in insta-love with very little romance development. They both have POV's and his often starts with him recapping and skim recalling their dates after the fact which kind of takes all of the fun out of the development of the actual romance and felt like a cheat. Weird. I would've preferred more pages and/or trimming of some of the other unneeded stuff or perhaps just a complete ditching of the romance and having it developed better in another book once this set up book was done.

There are secrets and surprises and new friends and all of that good cozy stuff that made me think of the show "Ghosts" but none of it hits exactly right here. The humor often felt awkward instead of genuine. The narration was well done but I don't think I liked the story enough to read the next one but never say never.

⭐1/2


Comments

  1. Witches and ghosts, sounds good to me. Right, why can't I find a haunted house to stay in. lol

    ReplyDelete
  2. Molly Harper usually writes such fun books; I'm sorry this one wasn't better.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The title is awesome, too bad the book didn't work for you...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Brainwyrms by Alison Rumfitt | Book Review

Retro Review: Eternal Rider by Larissa Ione

Alice I Have Been by Melanie Benjamin (Audio Review)